100% Guarantee *Some restrictions apply, call for details. Please note that fines/court costs may apply, and are additional.

Florida DUI Manslaughter Lawyer

DUI Homicide Charges in Florida

Facing charges of driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious offense. For a first conviction, you could be placed in prison for up to six months as well as charged up to $1,000 in fines. However, if you were accused of causing an accident that led to serious bodily harm or death, you could be facing even graver consequences.

Under Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Law Section 316, if a person caused serious bodily harm to another individual either in their car or in another vehicle while driving under the influence of alcohol, they could be guilty of a felony. The penalties for this third-degree felony is up to a $5,000 fine and up to five years in prison.

What Is the Minimum Sentence for DUI Manslaughter in Florida?

The minimum sentence for a DUI manslaughter in Florida is a prison sentence of 4 years.

Is DUI Manslaughter Considered a Violent Crime in Florida?

DUI manslaughter in Florida is considered a violent crime. It is considered a violent crime because it falls under one of the categories of vehicular crimes under violent crimes. The three categories of vehicular crimes under violent crimes are vehicular homicide, reckless driving leading to serious bodily injury, and a crash which lead to death.

What is the Sentence for DUI Manslaughter in Florida?

If the victim was so seriously injured that they succumbed to their injuries and died, the alleged drunk driver could be facing charges of a DUI manslaughter. This second-degree felony could lead to the following penalties:

  • $10,000 fine
  • up to 15 years in prison

What Are the Penalties for DUI Manslaughter & Leaving the Scene?

Under Florida law, everyone involved in an accident is required to remain at the scene of an accident to exchange personal information as well as seek emergency aid if necessary.

If you were charged with DUI manslaughter as well as leaving the scene of the accident, your penalties will only grow. It heightens from a second degree felony to a first degree felony and the time in prison increases to 30 years in prison.

What is Florida’s Hardship Reinstatement?

Another penalty for DUI manslaughter is the mandatory permanent revocation of your driver's license. This could cause serious difficulties for the individual as it could make it impossible for them to take care of their family as well as get to work.

If this is the case, after five years, you may be able to apply for a hardship reinstatement, but there is no guarantee this will be granted. For a DUI manslaughter charge with no previous convictions, you may be able to apply for this after completing DUI school.

Representation for your DUI Manslaughter Charges

If you were accused of driving under the influence of alcohol and causing an accident, your first step should be to contact a Florida traffic ticket attorney. As you can see from the information above, a conviction of DUI manslaughter is extremely serious. In order to avoid this, you should contact a member of our firm. We have handled over 50,000 traffic cases and understand Florida law in these matters. In order to have the best possible chance of retaining your freedom, see how Attorney Golden could help you.

Do not wait to contact a Florida DUI manslaughter lawyer from our legal team. We will do everything in our power to protect you.

Call Us Toll-Free

Traffic Ticket? We can help!
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.