100% Guarantee *Some restrictions apply, call for details. Please note that fines/court costs may apply, and are additional.
Understanding Florida's Point System

Understanding Florida's Point System

So, you've received a traffic ticket for a moving violation, now you're wondering just how many points that ticket is and just how much those points inch you closer to a driver's license suspension. In the state of Florida, when you accumulate 12 points in a period of 12 months, your driver's license will be automatically suspended for 30 days. If you accumulate 18 points within 18 months (including points from a 12 point suspension), your license will be automatically suspended for 3 months. When a person accumulates 24 points within 36 months (including points from a 12 or 18 month suspension), their license will be automatically suspended for one year. The following are some examples of common infractions and their point values in Florida:

  • Speeding less than 15 mph above the speed limit – 3 points
  • Speeding over 15 mph above the speed limit – 4 points
  • Speeding that results in a collision – 6 points
  • Moving violation that results in a collision – 3 points
  • Passing a stopped school bus – 4 points
  • Reckless driving – 4 points
  • Violating a child restraint law – 3 points
  • Littering – 3 points
  • Hit and run resulting in property damage over $50 – 6 points

Notes for Teen Drivers

For teens who receive a moving violation while they have their Learner's License, their Learner's License will be extended for one year from the date of the conviction, or until their 18th birthday, whichever comes first.

If a driver under the age of 21 is caught with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more, then they will receive an automatic six months administrative suspension.

Under Section 322.091, F.S., students aged 14 and above who accumulate 15 unexcused absences within a 90 calendar day period will have their driver's license suspended until they can prove they have attended school for 30 consecutive school days.

If you have received a ticket for speeding or a moving violation, we urge you to contact attorney Golden from Golden Traffic Ticket Law. We offer very affordable rates, usually ranging between $49 and $149, depending on the circumstances of the case. We are very experienced in defending traffic violations all throughout Florida; often times we can appear in court for you so you don't have to, and in many cases we can dramatically reduce our clients' fines and even prevent points going on their record and major insurance rate hikes.

Call us today to arrange a free personal consultation with our firm and to find out how we can help you!