Leaving the Scene
What are the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Florida?
Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime that occurs when an individual
is involved in a motor vehicle accident involving property, injury, death
or any combination of the three, and leaves the scene without providing
important information such as the drivers' name, address, drivers'
license and car registration. Failure to report damage to property is
also encompassed by this violation. Leaving the scene of an accident is
also known as a hit and run.
When an injury or death is involved, the driver must also attempt to provide
necessary support in access to urgent healthcare. Violation of this state
law can result in serious penalties, prison time and out-of-court consequences
that can last for years to come. You may be able to dependably face down
leaving the scene charges with the assistance of a skilled Florida traffic
Hit and Run Consequences in Florida
Those who leave the scene of an accident involving only property damage can face:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- 6 months of probation
- Fines up to $500.
When an injury is involved, defendants face a third degree felony with
a maximum of:
- 5 years in prison
- 5 years of probation
- Up to $5,000 in fines.
If a driver leaves the scene of an accident that resulted in the death
of another person, conviction may result in anywhere from:
- 21 months to up to 15 years in prison
- 15 years of probation
- Fines up to $10,000.
Solid Defense for Leaving the Scene Charges
There are a variety of possible defenses to leaving the scene charges that
could be applied depending on the particulars of your case. The attorneys
at Golden Traffic Ticket Law have approximately 35 years of experience
in defending clients who have been charged with crimes such as leaving
DUI and many others, and thus the firm has a skill set that focuses on Florida
Clients can take comfort in the fact that the firm is large and resourceful
enough to handle even the most complicated cases, and also small enough
so that clients can speak directly with Attorney Golden when the need
arises. Their number one priority is to see to the minimization or dismissal
of your charges, and Golden Traffic Ticket Law is prepared to do everything
possible for your defense. We are here to assist you, and you are invited
to talk to Attorney Golden personally in a free consultation by calling
Contact a Florida traffic ticket attorney
if you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident and want
to begin building the strongest defense possible.